ScottAllen-large

Date: March 20th at 9:15am PST / 12:15pm EST / 5:15pm GMT

Researchers at the University of Sheffield have identified a new pathway that is disrupted in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). The discovery was enabled by converting skin cells to brain cells called astrocytes and comparing the energy metabolism of cells taken from ALS versus normal controls, using Biolog’s Metabolic Phenotyping Technology.  The scientists discovered the loss of a key enzyme that could have major consequences for how the central nervous system copes with aging, stress and loss of energy metabolism.

 

Dr. Scott Allen will present an informative webinar on this breakthrough which was published in the March 2019 issue of “Brain”, A Journal of Neurology.  We invite you to join us for this webinar with Dr. Allen.